The extraordinary panorama that can be admired from Monte Nuvolau has been well known for centuries, and the paths leading from the Passo Falzarego, Passo Giau, Castello di Andraz and Cinque Torri are extremely ancient.
From the dawn of tourism at the start of the 1800s, the mountain guides of the Ampezzo Valley have been proud to take their clients to the peaks of this mountain, easily reachable but at the same time offering a breathtaking view over the Dolomites.
The Nuvolau Refuge was the first shelter to be built in the high mountains in the territory of Cortina d'Ampezzo.
It was opened to climbers on 11th August 1883, thanks to the efforts of Colonel Richard von Meerheimb of Dresden,who had been able to overcome a serious lung disease by staying in Ampezzo.
In order to hand down to his descendants his gratitude to the valley that had given him hospitality and where he had been healed, the colonel donated money to the local branch of the German and Austrian Mountaineering Alpine Club, on condition that it be spent on the building of a mountain refuge.
Thus, under the presidency of Giuseppe Ghedina Tomasc, rose the first refuge of Cortina.
In memory of the colonel's deed, the Ampezzo branch baptised the building with the name of “Sachsendankhütte”, or the “refuge of the Saxon's gratitude”.
The Cortina branch of CAI, designated as its proprietor at the end of the First World War, enlarged it and in 1930 was able to offer climbers a bigger and more comfortable refuge that is still today a desirable destination for enthusiastic mountaineers.